childbirth · Pregnancy

A birth story

Hello Readers,

Last Thursday I was writing up a post since I’d been so quiet for so long. The post was to my (then) unborn daughter Tegan. Little did I know that about 16 hours later my water would break and my life was going to change forever. Before I start my story I will tell you that being pregnant and the ‘challenges’ that I faced in that time with my diet and sex life are nothing in comparison to what I’m about to explain to you. So without further ado the birth story of my daughter Tegan Avery (from my perspective).

The day was Friday the 19th of September. It was 4:30 in the morning and I found myself up going to the bathroom for the 10th time that night. There was something distinctly different this time though. I found that I seemingly had lost control of my bladder and was peeing myself on the way. (I was warned that this could happen in the third trimester). While waddling to the bathroom I remember making a mental note to myself to strip the bed when my husband left for work (yay laundry).

Little did I know I would be doing no such thing. For the first time during my whole pregnancy I noticed vaginal bleeding. I had been reading pregnancy forums about a ‘bloody show’ and losing the mucus plug. This being a sign that labor could be anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks away. While wiping away the blood I was hit with another urge to pee (or so I thought).  It turns out I was leaking and it struck me that perhaps my water had just broken. I went back into the bedroom and woke my husband with the news. For the next two hours we stayed at home, called, ob triage, and I tried to contain my leak. We also used that time to make the bed, throw in a load of laundry, and tidy up the house. We knew we’d be tired when we got back from the hospital and had Tegan with us.

I was admitted into the hospital and taken to l&d to kick start labor. We were on a time table of 24 hours for me to deliver Tegan to lessen the risk of infection. It took a couple of hours for labor to actually start. I was trying to not have any medical intervention and use natural pain relief. I made it 20 hours, 5cm dilated, and was screaming bloody murder. The worst part is that I was suffering. This birth experience was no longer something I wanted to experience. I could barely speak, was shaking uncontrollably, and was about to pass out. I decided to get an epidural. I just needed to rest. I’ve never felt so much relief in my life. I can only describe it as being a happy zombie. I got to be numb and sleep for the next two hours.  Around 4am Saturday morning we kicked up trying to get Tegan out of me. She was born that morning at 7:06am…27hours after my water had broken. I remember just sobbing I was so happy and exhausted. I couldn’t have done that without the support of my husband, the midwives, and nurses that helped me. I was able to squeezed the crap out of Alix’s hand and know that he was right next to me every step of the way. His support was the best thing I could have had during those 27 hours. I got to hold Tegan for an hour and we bonded by her peeing on me and resting in my arms.  She was so quiet when she came out they had to wake her up to make sure she was crying.  Labor and delivery was such an experience I could go on and on with the details. That was the shortest version I could come up with.  Now comes the hard part and the part that is still going on right now.

Tegan is in the NICU.  She is doing better then she was and I can see her coming home in the very near future. I will write more about the NICU later. I have a lot of different posts floating in my head right now and they really should be spaced out. I will tell you that she just needs to eat more and gain weight to come home. Keep her in your thoughts.

-Rebecca

One thought on “A birth story

Leave a Reply

