social networking

Tackling the Beast

Hello Readers,

The ‘beast’ I’m referring to is known as social networking. Ever since I got Carter (the name of my Macbook Air) I’ve been more and more inspired to embrace the internet as a whole. The first thing that I did was start from scratch. I had previously had a Twitter, a Tumblr, Instagram, and Facebook. With the exception of Instagram and Facebook I started everything else over again with my married name. The hardest ones for me to embrace are Twitter and Tumblr on account of I’m not really sure who to follow and what to say. Much like with my blogs these are all sites I’ve attempted to use and get comfy with, but ultimately gave up on. I’ve also found inspiration for this social media adventure because my daughter’s due date is drawing closer and closer. I just know that I’m going to be one of those moms that clogs feeds with pictures of her daughter, husband, and cat. The beauty of all of this is that if people don’t wish to see it (mainly on Facebook) they can hide my posts. I want to do this for myself, my family, and anyone who wants to follow along is more then welcome to. I think before this renewed interest in the social media sites I was very hung up on posting for a certain audience. (Not that there is anything wrong with that). I just don’t think I was ready to make that kind of commitment to my sites. With this fresh start I’m just writing about whatever stokes my fancy and not promising my readers anything more or less. If anyone reading this has any advice on using Twitter and Tumblr effectively I would love to hear it. I would love to maximize use of everything. I think I’m just going to have to dedicate time to all of the sites to get the most out of them. It’s crazy to think that my daughter is going to grow up in a world where she’ll know nothing before wifi and technology everywhere.  This post wasn’t meant to be super long just a general update on my newest challenge.

Wish me luck. I'll probably need it.
Wish me luck. I’ll probably need it.

-Rebecca

Leave a Reply

