Pregnancy

Pregnancy Diet

Hello Readers,

As some of you may or may not know (depends on if you read ‘Who’s Rebecca’ or not). My husband and I are expecting our first child. Not only is this our first child together it’s my first pregnancy ever. I’ve been asked by doctors enough I think I feel the need to make that known. Anyways I’m now in my third trimester (7th month) of the pregnancy and I would have to say I’ve had a pretty easy pregnancy as far as pregnancy goes. Up until the last week I’ve been able to eat whatever I want, I have minimal stretch marks, and our daughter Tegan is growing like a champ. I feel almost bad complaining about anything with the pregnancy, but even uncomplicated pregnancies come with sacrifices. 

Let me back up a little. If you were to rewind about 3 weeks and press play you would see me being utterly exhausted and moody beyond reason. You would also notice Alix (my husband) being extremely confused and walking on eggshells. Speed up a little bit to last weekend. After another one of my mood shifts that left me wanting the day to be over (at 1 pm mind you). I decided to call my Aunt Tonya who is a CNM (certified nurse midwife) and ask her opinion on why my moods had been so crazy lately. After talking with her for a little bit she explained to me that she thought my body was producing to much insulin, causing my body to tire quickly, and Tegan to get a crazy sugar rush. 

Picture this: You eat a cup of sugar and your body responds by creating a gallon of insulin. It’s supposed to be a cup for a cup. This caused my body to crash and Tegan to be jacked up on 3 red bulls. I’m pretty sure that would make anyone moody. 

The solution to all of this? She suggested that I go on a protein diet. Basically I’ve gotten rid of empty carbs and sugar. I can have a little here and there but no more cinnamon toast crunch for me. Basically any craving that I’ve had through this whole pregnancy is off limits to me now. It’s not all that bad though because ultimately I’ve gotten great results so far. I just make sure to eat some trail mix or a spoonful of peanut butter every hour that I’m awake. My moods have leveled out dramatically, and Tegan has stopped kicking the crap out of me all day every day. 

I passed my glucose test, my sugars have always been normal, and my blood pressure has been great as well. I’ve only got 8 weeks and a couple days left of this pregnancy and I’d like to be as healthy as possible. Lucky for me Alix let’s me have sweet things in very small portions. I’ve learned when you have nothing sweet…a little goes a long way.

Till Next Time

-Rebecca

Leave a Reply

